h1

Christy Moore – Me & Rose (90s – 43)

May 11, 2014

You may notice in this countdown I am freely genre-hopping. This how I consumed music in the 90. My (relative) realignment with the mainstream wouldn’t happen until arguably 2000 when I started reviewing. Before this I plucked music as I found it.

Chrity Moore was connected with those I had already been aware: he was the lead singer of Irish folk group Planxty with Paul Brady and Donal Lunny, whose own work appeared on those radio shows I heard late at night on the ABC – shows which also which also played electric banjo, multi-dubbed double bass or bagpipes playing jazz.

One night they played this 13 minute story, full of irreverence and dubious reminiscences. For a while I could recite great slabs of it. I’m not sure why I loved it, maybe because a lot of folk was either technical and fast or slow and serious.

This was neither, just entertainment, and I was entertained.

Leave a Reply

