h1

Greetings

March 13, 2014

I’ve noticed an increase in traffic to this blog. Hello! I’m assuming this is in part due to my participation in Freaky Trigger’s wonderful Pop World Cup, where I am managing Cote D’Ivoire.

This blog is a scratch-pad about music in an attempt to keep my hand in the process of writing. It’s made up of short jottings thrown down in those moments small children allow. I used to regularly review music for small publications and ‘zines, and have produced and presented music programs on three different radio stations in Australia. None of my work has been for the big names or the notable, but I enjoyed it and wish to return in due course once family duties and day job allow.

Most of the entries on these blogs are jotting around a loose concept. The first was my selection of 100 tracks from the Noughties, and I’m currently halfway through the Nineties – the decade which takes me neatly from the start of high school to my first post-University job. The list isn’t groundbreaking, but it does allow me to explore the head space I was in when I first heard these tracks.

I am very interested in the serendipitous way people’s music tastes evolve: snatches of radio, half-heard tracks in a shop which nag the ear, recommendations from friends and mixtapes. I was never a strict adherent of the charts after the late 80s, though I heard as much pop as anyone. However my main interests were in music were wide. I grew up in a small country town, pre-internet, with one commercial radio station and three government stations liable to play (unexpectedly but with little wider context) a Klaus Schulze, Pat Metheny or a concerto for bagpipes and jazz orchestra as much as Sting and Dire Straits. Thus my lists are an attempt to rationalise the way I stumbled across music as chance encounters, rather than mechanically ticking off a discography or adhering to a chart.

So welcome to my little project. I apologise for any grammatical mistakes; as I said these are just jottings between screams and story books. You may also like to have a look at some archival writings from my better writing days.

And remember to vote for Cote D’Ivoire in the Pop World Cup!

Leave a Reply

