h1

Gomez – Whippin’ Piccadilly (90s – 60)

September 20, 2013

It was a toss up between this and Get Myself Arrested, either of which are likely to get stuck in my head for hours. They are also a band – like the Beta Band and others – who I always considered were around earlier than they actually were. Their debut album was released in 1998 but I could have sworn they had been around for ever. I am also surprised they are only a year older than I, but then I was doing far less interesting things in my early twenties.

I first focussed on Gomez when the Machismo EP came into 2UNE in 2000. When I backtracked through their discography I realising I heard all the singles from their debut LP Bring It On during the fog of my last year of University. Later I got to see them at the second ever Splendour in the Grass festival in Byron Bay, which is one of my dearest musical experiences.

There’s much I love about Gomez: the idiosyncratic combination of electronics and bluesy acoustics; the three singer-songwriters; and Ben Ottewell being the most distinguished bespectacled singer since Andy Partridge.

I’d never seen any Gomez film clips until I wrote this – I missed most of the film clips from 1996-1998 on account of rarely being in front of a TV screen, and Youtube yet to be conceived. But here it is.

Leave a Reply

