h1

Dizzee Rascal – Dance Wiv Me (5)

December 30, 2009

Nearer the start of this list, I stated I don’t know much about hip hop but I know what I like. Now the list is near complete, I realise how much I like.

I could pick so many tracks from Dizzee, but especially from his grimier early days. Like Lady Sovereign, he’s recently been toying with mainstream success, which should be been worrying, but he thankfully finds his own niche. Dizzee gets the balance right here, taming his normally rapid-fire delivery and instead focussing on keeping the track flowing. Dance Wiv Me is understated, but gets under your skin, with Calvin Harris forgoing the glitz of his own solo work to become a perfect compliment.

Leave a Reply

