h1

Morrissey – First of the Gang to Die (58)

December 16, 2009

I borrow the “You Are The Quarry” from the city library, subsequently lost it in a move, and given a very lengthy stay of execution to find it by the librarians who quoted me greatly different fines they were saving me in their generosity. After months of this I insisted on paying the fine, which turned out to be the cheapest quoted yet. I then forgot all about Morrissey’s comeback album.

A few months later I found the album in the unlikeliest place, allowing me to finally listened to its unexpected brilliance. Not only is First of the Gang to Die is the most mournful gangster tune I’ve ever heard, it was one of four UK top ten hits from the album. Not surprisingly it outsold anything by the Smiths.

Leave a Reply

