h1

Sonic Youth – The Empty Page (86)

December 9, 2009

I don’t idolise Sonic Youth, and find their recorded output patchy. I like “Dirty”; I dislike “Daydream Nation”. I appreciate their importance in the general scheme of things, and especially love the fact they follow their muse – in fact I wish more bands would do it! But I bought “Washing Machine” after an aficionado told me it was classic. It bored me silly.

Before this I desperately wanted to like Sonic Youth, based on a huge amount of goodwill caused by “Murray Street”. For me this is their best album by a long shot, with The Empty Page a killer opener. It’s catchy as all hell, and the guitar solo is my kind of noise.

Leave a Reply

