h1

The Go-Betweens – The Clock (88)

December 8, 2009

Streets of Your Town, greatly over-played on a television ad, put me off the Go-Betweens for years. Then again, the band being defunct during the entire Nineties meant they were missing from the music identikit I pieced together in my teens. It was not until the release of “The Friends of Rachel Worth” in 2000 I finally allowed my ears to open.

If songs like Surfing Magazine were nothing more than deliciously daggy – it was the radio single we received – it was The Clock which introduced me to their pop credentials. Its hooks got stuck in my head for weeks, but also opened up their back catalogue.

Sadly I never got to see them live, despite living in their native Brisbane. I missed an instore performance by 24 hours, having mixed up the days, but consoled myself there was always time to see them. But then came Grant McLennan’s untimely death. Now the city is constructing the Go-Between Bridge, and I bet someone plays Streets Of Your Town when it opens.

Leave a Reply

